Coverart for item
The Resource Marooned : Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's origin, Joseph Kelly

Marooned : Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's origin, Joseph Kelly

Label
Marooned : Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's origin
Title
Marooned
Title remainder
Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's origin
Statement of responsibility
Joseph Kelly
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding myth. We all know the great American origin story. It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England, where they built their fabled city on a hill. Legend goes that the colony in Jamestown was a false start, offering a cautionary tale. Lazy louts hunted gold till they starved, and the shiftless settlers had to be rescued by English food and the hard discipline of martial law. Neither story is true. In Marooned, Joseph Kelly reexamines the history of Jamestown and comes to a radically different and decidedly American interpretation of these first Virginians. In this gripping account of shipwrecks and mutiny in America's earliest settlements, Kelly argues that the colonists at Jamestown were literally and figuratively marooned, cut loose from civilization, and cast into the wilderness. The British caste system meant little on this frontier: those who wanted to survive had to learn to work and fight and intermingle with the nearby native populations. Ten years before the Mayflower Compact and decades before Hobbes and Locke, they invented the idea of government by the people. 150 years before Jefferson, they discovered the truth that all men were equal. The epic origin of America was not an exodus and a fledgling theocracy. It is a tale of shipwrecked castaways of all classes marooned in the wilderness fending for themselves in any way they could--a story that illuminates who we are today"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
LBSOR/DLC
Dewey number
975.5/4251
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
F234.J3
LC item number
K449 2018
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
Label
Marooned : Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's origin, Joseph Kelly
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 435-451) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Renegades -- Tsenacomoco -- Nantaquod on the James -- Call of the wild -- Maroons -- The American adventure -- Lost -- The first frontier -- Trouble times -- The kiss my arse revolution -- Rescue
Control code
on1019931760
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
ix, 500 pages
Isbn
9781632867773
Lccn
2018003587
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1019931760
Label
Marooned : Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's origin, Joseph Kelly
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 435-451) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Renegades -- Tsenacomoco -- Nantaquod on the James -- Call of the wild -- Maroons -- The American adventure -- Lost -- The first frontier -- Trouble times -- The kiss my arse revolution -- Rescue
Control code
on1019931760
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
ix, 500 pages
Isbn
9781632867773
Lccn
2018003587
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1019931760

Library Locations

    • BelmontBorrow it
      1110 Alameda de las Pulgas, Belmont, CA, 94022, US
      37.5088243 -122.2953672
    • MillbraeBorrow it
      1 Library Avenue, Millbrae, CA, 94030, US
      37.6023106 -122.3991403
    • WoodsideBorrow it
      3140 Woodside Road, Woodside, CA, 94062, US
      37.4292118 -122.2602131
Processing Feedback ...